Missed an earlier news item? Visit the news archive.


Connemara-based piper Seán McKiernan  heads the list of recipients of the TG4 Gradam Ceoil 2010 (Traditional Music Awards) announced at a media reception at the headquarters of Na Píobairí Uilleann in Dublin this evening.  Born in Boston of Connemara and Leitrim stock Seán moved to Connemara as a young man and is widely regarded as one of the great masters of the uilleann pipes.

This year’s Gradam recipients range over a wide spectrum of talents. Others to be honoured  include current and former members of world-renowned  traditional groups (The Chieftains and The Boys of the Lough) the co-founder of the famed Willie Clancy Summer School, an acclaimed young fiddler from Donegal and two members of a West Cork musical dynasty. (Biographies of this year’s winners are enclosed).

The full list of TG4 Gradam Ceoil 2010 is:

·Gradam Ceoil – Seán McKiernan
·Ceoltóir Óg na bliana (Young Musician) – Aidan O’Donnell
·Gradam Saoil (Hall of Fame) – Seán Potts
·Cumadóir (Composer) – John and Finbarr Dwyer
·Amhránaí na Bliana (Singer) – Cathal McConnell
·Gradam na gCeoltóirí (Musicians’ Award) - Muiris Ó Rócháin
An independent Panel of Adjudicators selects recipients of the TG4 Gradam Ceoil. This year’s awards will be presented at a televised Gala Awards Ceremony and Concert that will take place in the Wexford Opera House on Saturday 27th March where the winners will be joined by a host of special guests in a concert that will be presented by Dáithí Ó Sé and will be recorded and broadcast on TG4 on Easter Sunday 4th April at 9.30pm.

Ardstiúrthóir TG4, Pól Ó Gallchóir says that the Gradam Ceoil honours great figures in Irish traditional music during their lifetime.  “We are proud to be fulfilling our role as the television home of traditional music,” he said.

Tickets for the Gradam Ceoil concert can be obtained by telephone from 053 9122144 or on

Permalink - Posted: February 4, 2010 at 12:04 pm