Missed an earlier news item? Visit the news archive.


September 10th was a day for celebration in Monkstown, Dublin when the 2012 All-Ireland Fleadh was awarded for the third year in succession to Cavan. Both Sligo and Ennis were bidding to host next year’s Fleadh, but, when the votes were finally cast by the 29 member committee Cavan came out as the victors. The winning margin was like this year’s GAA Football final, just one in the difference and Senator Labhras Ó Murchú said that the vote was unusually close this year because the competing towns had put such detailed proposals forward. He congratulated the Cavan Committee and said that it was heartening that CEO Jack Keyes Keyes as a public representative was prepared to take on the role of Fleadh Chairman. The Senator also paid tribute to Martin Donohoe who he said “is the logo for the Fleadh Cheoil”.

Permalink - Posted: September 28, 2011 at 4:14 pm