Missed an earlier news item? Visit the news archive.


The young traditional music group Teaspach  from Sligo are the Siansa Gael Linn 2012 winners!  At the Grand Finale concert in the National Concert Hall on Sunday, 29 April 2012, they were chosen from among eight finalists of a high standard for this prestigious award. Siansa is  a competition for young traditional Irish music and singing groups, organized annually by Gael Linn, with support from Foras na Gaeilge, RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta and Irish Music Magazine.

Each participating group -  Frioscaí, Floscadh and Na Fataí Fánacha from  Raheny, Artane and Booterstown, Co.Dublin, respectively, along with Teaspach from Sligo,  Nenagh-based Geasa, Co. Tipperary  Macalla from Corofin, Co. Galway,  Réaltaí  from Swinford, Co. Mayo and  SeaNua,  whose members hail from all over Munster, delighted the capacity audience with their programmes of carefully selected and thoughtfully arranged traditional  tunes and songs.

Such was the musicianship, that there was stiff competition for the prizefund  of €4,500, and it fell to renowned traditional musicians Síle Denvir, Ciaran O’ Maonaigh and Breanndán  Ó Beaglaoich to choose the prizewinners. There was great rejoicing among their supporters  when it was announced that  Teaspach  were the victors ! There are eight young musicians in the group -   Áine Ní Mháirtín, Nell Ní Cheallaigh, Gearóid Ó Duibhir, Íde Ní Chionnaith, Jason Mac Aonghusa, Hannah Ní Cheallaigh, Peadar Ó Maonaigh and  Pádraig Ó Gabháin.   They were presented with first prize of €2,500 and the Gael Linn trophy.  This is the second time for Sligo musicians to have taken the top prize in Siansa Gael Linn, as the group Spraoi, also from Sligo Grammar School, won the competition in 2009.

In second place were  Na Fataí Fánacha  from  Coláistí Eoin and Iosagáin, Booterstown, Co. Dublin (  Cathal Ó Crócaigh, Fionn Mac Muiris, Conor Leavy, Seán Óg Mac Chinnéide, Philip Óg Denmead, Doireann Ní Ghlacain, Martha Ní Chianáin  and  Pádraig Óg Mac Aodhagáin who were awarded €1,250. Third place went to  Macalla from Corofin, Co. Galway   ( Róisín Ní Bhruadair, Conchubhair Ó Bruadair, Lisa Ní Cheallaigh, Ciara Ní Fhianáin, Aoife Ní Fhianáin, Pluincéid Ó Tuathail, Seosamh Mac an Ultaigh and  Kellie Ní Mhainín  ) who  received €750.  A specially designed memento was also  presented to each young musician who took part in the event.  A CD featuring the prizewinners will be released by Gael Linn and they will also be seen on in due course.

Gael Linn CEO, Antoine Ó Coileáin, thanked Foras na Gaeilge, RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta and Irish Music Magazine for their ongoing support of the competition and said:
Siansa Gael Linn is a musical highlight of the calendar for young musicians. Year after year, the competition inspires and attracts new groups of the highest caliber. A measure of the standard is that previous winners, Ioscaid, went on to win the BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award 2012. Siansa uniquely showcases Irish music and Irish song by young musicians, all through the medium of Irish.

Áine Hensey, popular presenter with RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta, compered the  show which was broadcast live by the station on the night.  Highlights from the event may be heard shortly on the RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta website.

For Further Information contact:  Niamh de Búrca 01 6753303/087 2623953

Permalink - Posted: April 30, 2012 at 2:27 pm