Missed an earlier news item? Visit the news archive.

Celebrating Christie Hennessy - The Platinum Collection

Featuring Aonghus McAnally and his Musicians.



Renowned entertainer recreates the iconic sound of his close friend in a touching tribute to one of Ireland’s greatest singer-songwriters.

RTÉ personality Aonghus McAnally takes his hugely successful show “Celebrating Christie Hennessy – The Platinum Collection” on a 26 venue nationwide tour (scroll down for list of venues).  Tickets are on sale now.

Aonghus McAnally and his musicians will perform new versions of Christie Hennessy’s biggest hits. Don’t Forget Your Shovel, All The Lies That You Told Me, Messenger Boy, Oh Jealous Heart, If You Were To Fall (And I Was To Fall In Love With You), Remember Me and many more.

One of Ireland’s most beloved singer-songwriters, Christie Hennessy delighted audiences at home and abroad until his tragic and untimely death in 2007, aged just 62.  In this all-new show, celebrated entertainer Aonghus McAnally brings the Hennessy songbook to life with his uncanny recreation of his close friend Christie’s voice and guitar playing.  Featuring all his best loved hits – Messenger Boy, Jealous Heart, Don’t Forget Your Shovel, If You Were To Fall, All The Lies That You Told Me, and the iconic Roll Back The Clouds – this magical evening showcases the storytelling brilliance of Christie Hennessy with 22 of his greatest songs.

Inhabiting the role of Christie is particularly poignant for Aonghus as the two were such close friends – Aonghus even delivered the eulogy at Christie’s funeral. Speaking about the show, Aonghus said, “It’s a genuine privilege to share Christie’s incredible music with audiences around the country, and an honour to be part of keeping his spirit alive.  Music fans want one more Christie gig, and to be able to recreate that magic for them is one of the most special feelings I’ve ever had on stage.  Having played Christie before, maybe the greatest compliment I’ve ever received as a performer was when Christie’s wife Gill came to me after the show in tears, saying it’s like having Christie back again.”   Celebrating Christie Hennessy: The Platinum Collection will tour to 26 venues throughout Ireland.

Aonghus McAnally is one of Ireland’s best known faces and voices in entertainment. A son of multi-BAFTA winning actor Ray McAnally (The Mission, My Left Foot) and actress Ronnie Masterson ( Angela’s Ashes), it was no surprise that he ventured into show business, starting off in the early 70’s with trad rock group Mushroom. For over 30 years he has been a regular face and voice on both television and radio, hosting such well known shows as Anything Goes, The Lyrics Board, Both Sides Now, Late Date, and for the last 3 years has been the Series Producer on Joe Duffy’s Liveline.  He is delighted to take to the road again, celebrating 22 of Christie’s songs.

RTÉ personality Aonghus McAnally takes his hugely successful show “Celebrating Christie Hennessy – The Platinum Collection” on a 26 venue nationwide tour – see full tour dates.  Tickets are on sale now.

Full Tour Dates:

Fri. 6th Oct. | CORK OPERA HOUSE

Thurs. 19th Oct. | Pavilion Theatre, Dun Laoghaire

Fri. 20th Oct. | Hawks Well, Sligo

Sat. 21st Oct. | Civic Theatre, Tallaght

Sun. 22nd Oct. | Birr Theatre, Offaly

Thurs. 26th Oct. | Draiocht, Blanchardstown

Sat. 28th Oct. | Dean Crowe, Athlone, Co. Westmeath

Sun. 29th Oct. | Iontas, Castleblayney, Co. Monaghan

Thurs. 2nd Nov. | Town Hall Theatre, Westport, Co. Mayo

Sat. 4th Nov. | Visual Arts Centre, Carlow

Sun. 5th Nov. | Waterfront, Belfast

Fri. 10th Nov. | Source Arts Centre, Thurles, Co. Tipperary

Sat. 11th Nov. | Ramor Theatre, Virginia, Co. Cavan

Sun. 12th Nov. | St. Michael’s Theatre, New Ross, Co. Wexford

Thurs. 16th Nov. | Theatre Royal, Waterford

Sat. 18th Nov. | Riverside Park, Macroom, Co. Cork

Thurs. 23rd Nov. | Siamsa Tire Theatre, Tralee, Co. Kerry

Fri. 24th Nov. | Glor, Ennis, Co. Clare

Sun. 26th Nov. | Solstice Arts Centre, Navan, Co. Meath

Fri. 1st Dec. | Axis Theatre, Ballymun, Dublin

Sat. 2nd Dec. | Mermaid Arts Centre, Bray, Co. Wicklow

Thurs. 7th Dec. | Tullamore Court, Co. Offaly

Fri. 8th Dec. | An Grianan Theatre, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal

Sat. 9th Dec. | An Tain Arts Centre, Dundalk, Co. Louth

Sun. 10th Dec. | Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Dublin

Thurs. 14th Dec. | Roscommon Arts Centre

For further information contact:

Carmody Smith PR

Tel: 01 2070496 / 086 1741882

Permalink - Posted: September 6, 2017 at 2:03 pm