Missed an earlier news item? Visit the news archive.

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council and Music Network are pleased to announce details of the 2020 Musicians-in-Residence Scheme.

Established and emerging musicians and groups with a strong connection to Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown are invited to apply.

Details of the dlr Musicians-in-Residence Scheme 2020 were released today. The scheme is jointly funded by Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council and the Arts Council, and managed by Music Network. Three residencies are offered in 2020: two for established musicians/groups and one for an emerging musician/group. The closing date for application is Thursday 20th February 2020 at 2pm. Full application guidelines are available at

The aim of the Musicians-in-Residence Scheme is to provide opportunities to develop and showcase new work which may be compositional and/or performance-focused, i.e. to create new material and/or to develop a new artistic collaboration.

Arts Officer Kenneth Redmond said: “Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council is delighted to offer this opportunity to musicians which allows for the time, space and resources to focus on creating new work or developing new collaborations. Over the last five years, the Residency Programme has supported 12 individual musicians and groups.”

dlr Arts Office and Music Network will be hosting a visit to the Studio, dlr LexIcon for interested applicants on Tuesday 4th February 2020 at 6.00pm. To book a place please email dlr Arts Office at with the subject line Musicians’ site visit. Site visits cannot be accommodated outside of this time.

The dlr Musicians-in-Residence Scheme was established in 2015.  Previous Musicians-in-Residence have included percussionist and composer Éamonn Cagney, improvising pianist and composer Izumi Kimura, composer, sound designer and multi-instrumentalist Lara Gallagher, vocalist and songwriter Susan McKeown, pianist and composer Conor Linehan, sound artist and composer Craig Cox, musician and composer Sebastian Adams, The Eidola Trio featuring Malachy Robinson (viola de gamba) Eamon Sweeney (baroque guitar, lute) and Anita Vedres (baroque violin), Elizabeth Hilliard and Grainne Mulvey (Opera), Matthew Jacobson (Jazz Drummer) and Metier (Jazz Quintet led by Ronan Guilfoyle).

Music Network is funded by the Arts Council.

Permalink - Posted: January 14, 2020 at 10:09 am